July 31, 2011

Silverbacks Take W-League Crown

The Atlanta Silverbacks coasted to a 6-1 victory over the Ottawa Fury to win the 2011 W-League championship on Sunday evening. The Silverbacks got two goals each from Megan Tomlinson and Susannah Dennis to notch the win.

Both Tomlinson and Dennis scored first half goals to give Atlanta a 2-0 lead. Then the Silverbacks were awarded a penalty and the Fury's Courtney Wetzel was sent off late in the half. Alexa Newfield converted the penalty to make it 3-0 at the half.

Mallory Outerbridge managed to cut the lead to 3-1 for the shorthanded Fury in the second half, but Atlanta followed with goals by Dennis, Tomlinson, and Sarah Bennett to put the match away.

The Vancouver Whitecaps defeated the Seattle Sounders 2-1 in the 3rd place match.