February 12, 2011

De Vanna Gets Game Winner to Lead Brisbane to W-League Title

Lisa De Vanna scored the game-winning goal in the 64th minute to lead the Brisbane Roar to a 2-1 victory over Sydney FC in the Westfield W-League final played at Campbelltown earlier today.

Sydney had defeated Brisbane in last year's championship by a 3-2 margin after Brisbane had taken the championship the previous season.

De Vanna had joined Brisbane in 2010, after playing for Perth for two seasons. She had broken her leg while playing for Australia in the Asian Cup in 2010 and missed most of the season for her WPS team, the Washington Freedom.

Another Matilda, Tameka Butt, opened the scoring for Brisbane just nine minutes into the match. Kylie Ledbrook answered for Sydney later in the 1st half.