September 25, 2010

WPS Awards Franchise to Western New York

Womens Professional Soccer has announced that Western New York will be added as the eighth WPS team for the 2011 season. The team will be based in Elma, New York, a suburb of Buffalo and will split the schedule playing part of their home schedule in the Buffalo area and part in Rochester. The team will be owned by Joe Sahlen, who has owned and operated the Buffalo Flash of the W-League. The Flash won the W-League championship in 2010.

The two home fields for the Western New York franchise will be Rochester Rhinos Stadium and Niagara Field on the campus of the University of Niagara in Lewiston, New York.

The team name and logo are expected to be unveiled in October and an expansion draft from current WPS teams will also be held in October.