September 28, 2010

Jim Gabarra Resigns from Freedom

Washington Freedom head coach Jim Gabarra, the only coach to take his team to the playoffs in both WPS seasons, has resigned his position. Gabarra has long been involved in Washington area women's soccer, previously coaching both the WUSA Freedom and the W-League Freedom, before becoming the first head coach of the WPS Freedom franchise.

The WPS Washington Freedom were 16-16-12 in Gabarra's tenure as head coach. After making the playoffs, they were eliminated in the first round in both seasons, by eventual champion Sky Blue in 2009 and by 2010 runner-up Philadelphia.

Gabarra's departure means that only two of the original seven WPS coaches are still with their team, Albertin Montoya with FC Gold Pride and Tony DiCicco with the Boston Breakers. Washington will immediately begin their search for a replacement.