August 4, 2009

WPS Names Starting 11 for All-Star Game

The WPS has announced the first 11 for the first WPS All-Star game to be held in Saint Louis on August 30th.

Goalkeeper: Karina LeBlanc (Los Angeles)
Defenders: Tina Ellertson (Saint Louis), Amy LePeilbet (Boston), Alex Scott (Boston)
Midfielders: Camille Abily (Los Angeles), Sonia Bompastor (Washington), Shannon Boxx (Los Angeles), Lori Chalupny (Saint Louis), Kelly Smith (Boston)
Forwards: Eniola Aluko (Saint Louis), Marta (Los Angeles)

Scott, Abily, Bompastor, Smith, and Aluko will all be away at the Euros, so they will be replaced by the next highest players in the voting at their positions. The voting was comprised of 25% fans, 25% players, 25% coaches, and 25% media. Their replacements will be announced later this week.

In addition to the 5 players that will be added as replacements for the starters that were chosen, head coach Abner Rogers and Commissioner Tonya Antonucci will name 7 subs to the All-Star team. The WPS team will face Umea IK of Sweden.